Drama in the Beauty Community

Hello Everyone,

I wanted to come on here and just chat with you guys. I’ve seen a whole lot of posts about the big drama that is currently going on in the beauty community. I have been on WordPress as a blogger for several years now and along the way I have met some great people in the beauty community including Marlena from makeup geek. In fact, I had her several times on the show when she first launched her brand. I’ve been a supporter of makeupgeek for years as well as other indie brands

Now, when it comes to the beauty community and even big makeup brands in general, it became this big fad where EVERYONE was joining in as soon as the saw that it paid well to be an influencer. As someone , who actually made a profession of working in the media, it became kind of like a joke to see people posting things and raving about the same products all at the same time. It kind of turned me off of actually going out and buying products. I, like probably a lot of you have been watching Beauty Influencers for a long time on YouTube. However, in the past few years, I have completely been tuned out. It all became a big commercial.

Bottom line is, makeup is a business. It’s s big industry that has only grown thanks to the exposure of social media. Speaking as a consumer, I think it is important to regroup and refocus things back to the actual love of makeup. Reviews that have been sponsored are pretty obvious for someone who has a trained eye when it comes to social media and even for those that don’t.  It’s all in the language, it how is proposed, the comparison. As a consumer that spends her hard earn cash to review skin care and other beauty products, I would like to see people go back to when they raved about items because they actually loved them.

We live in a time where we can hold makeup brands accountable for who they  support or how they do their business, promote their products, and who they collaborate with. We the consumer have the power. We decide which brands to support, what products we buy etc. I think it’s good that people are now being held accountable for their actions.

Moving forward, let’s make makeup fun again! When things are done with love and in a transparent manner people notice.

I hope you all are having s fabulous weekend. Let me know your thoughts on this whole situation happening and let’s get a conversation going! Stay tuned for a beauty review on a blush palette that I have been loving.

Sending love as always and a big thank you for all of the support.

Leave a Comment