Are All Those Makeup Brushes Necessary?

Hello Everyone,

I hope everyone is having a great start  to their work week. I can’t complain about mine except for the fact that I really should get to sleep earlier. lol

Now I thought about this topic this morning as I was doing my makeup. I really do not use all of my makeup brushes. In reality I only use three brushes out of all the ones that I have. I don’t even use my buffing or stippling brush for my BB cream. I actually just use my fingers to blend it into my skin.

Which brings me into the very important question, Are all those makeup brushes necessary? If you asked me, I would tell you no. If you asked someone else their answer might depend on what particular looks it is that they like to do, or what they would consider their “holy grail”. But whomever you ask we can all agree on one thing: you need a good blending brush.

In fact, among my tiny collection of makeup brushes I have three blending brushes. The infamous M.A.C 217, and Elf blending brush and finally a Makeupgeek Brush that is similar to the 217 from M.A.C. Why so many you ask? Blending brushes are amazing. In fact you can create a variety of looks with just blending brushes. You can pack color onto the lid, blend it up into the crease, and having an extra clean brush and swipping it quickly all over the eye look will create a seamless beautiful look.

Lately all I have been using is my blending brushes. My advice to you is that is you are looking to invest in some makeup brushes that will last you for a while, invest in a good blending brush! Don’t get me wrong, the other type of brushes have their use too, but I don’t think you need to spend too much.

At the end of the day, brushes are only as good as the tenique of the person who is applaying the products. I hope you all have a fantastic week and found this blog post interesting.

Until next time, much love as always.

-Kat

 

2 Comments

  1. Sam says:

    I like having a lot of brushes so I can reach for them if my other brushes are dirty. Personally though, I think liquid foundation brushes are a pain in the butt so I just use my fingers. To really keep a foundation brush clean you have to wash it almost everyday, and no one got time for that.

    1. katestefania says:

      I absolutely agree, but I’m starting to notice I’m using them less and less.. How you deep clean your brushes?

Leave a Comment